a list for later: Indigenous feminists

Here is an article from bitchmedia on Indigenous feminists to know. It appears to me there is much art in this list! Here are some artists I’m excited about, based only on the article:

Leanne Simpson – an activist, scholar, writer, and poet

Haunani Kay-Trask – a Hawaiian nationalist and scholar

Chrystos – a poet and activist whose work is included in This Bridge Called My Back, which is already on my list of things to read but just got bumped up a bit

Beth Brant – a writer and anthologist

Sydney Freeland – a filmmaker

Leslie Marmon Silko – I have heard of this novelist/poet/essayist! and yet I still have none of her work

I skipped a few whose work was more scholarly, less the poetry this blog is named for, and I’m going to insist that I do not have to feel bad about that. There will be more days for taking in other kinds of information.

In this phase, though: poetry.

Leave a Reply

