Boy, Snow, Bird: 2

I’ve been reading this book all of half an hour and I’m sort of dazzled. Also I think it will go quickly.

Listen to this:

“As for Flax Hill itself, I was on shaky terms with it for the first few months. Neither of us was sure whether or not I genuinely intended to stick around. And so the town misbehaved a little, collapsing when I went to sleep and reassembling in the morning in a slapdash manner; I kept passing park benches and telephone booths and entrances to alleyways that I was absolutely certain hadn’t been there the evening before. My boarding house room was the cheapest around, and truly, I got what I paid for.”

(Helen Oyeyemi, Boy, Snow, Bird p. 15)

Leave a Reply

