We Should All Be Feminists: 2

This little volume goes quickly, packs a wallop, and makes me feel happy and strong.

“He told me that people were saying my novel was feminist, and his advice to me– he was shaking his head sadly as he spoke– was that I should never call myself a feminist, since feminists are women who are unhappy because they cannot find husbands.

So I decided to call myself a Happy Feminist.

Then an academic, a Nigerian woman, told me that feminism was not our culture, that feminism was un-African, and I was only calling myself a feminist because I had been influenced by Western books …

Anyway, since feminism was un-African, I decided I would now call myself a Happy African Feminist. Then a dear friend told me that calling myself a feminist meant that I hated men. So I decided I would now be a Happy African Feminist Who Does Not Hate Men …”

-Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, We Should All Be Feminists

Leave a Reply

