Readings for White Feminists

These recommendations are taken from Lucie Witt’s article, “Eight Books and Articles White Feminists Should Read for Black History Month.” The article is here, and it includes links to each reading: http://luciewitt.com/2016/02/08/eight-books-and-articles-white-feminists-should-read-for-black-history-month/

“Demarginalizing the Intersection of Race and Sex” by Kimberlé Crenshaw

“I’m Not Grateful for Viola Davis’ Win– It Was Long Overdue” by Ashley Ford

Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction, and the Meaning of Liberty by Dorothy Roberts

“#FlintWaterCrisis is a Reproductive Justice Issue” by Josie Pickens

Sister Citizen by Melissa Harris Perry

“Black, queer, feminist, erased from history: Meet the most important legal scholar you’ve likely never heard of” by Brittney Cooper

At the Dark End of the Street by Danielle McGuire

The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander – this is the only one I’ve already read.

****

I have about 100 pages left in The Corner. I’m afraid it’s about to break my heart. The Wire was created by one of its authors, and the next-to-last episode of each season of The Wire was the one that wrecked me, and I’m nearly at the end of The Corner. If this book started the pattern, then I will shortly be weeping.

We Should All Be Feminists and Homegoing are both in the mail. I intend to read them next. Still: I bet I could slip some articles into my evenings between the end of The Corner and whichever of those two I decide to start first.

What poetry have you dunked in today?

One thought on “Readings for White Feminists

  1. I finished Boy, Snow, Bird tonight and I’m not yet ready to start Americanah. I’m reading through some of these instead.

    From Ashley Ford’s essay about Viola Davis:
    “In school, we learned about so many black firsts (during Black History Month), that I assumed they were all just the first black people good enough at whatever they wanted to do to be considered for awards, politics, prestigious jobs, etc. It never occurred to me that being the first could just mean someone else decided to recognize you …”

    I’ve never considered it from that angle. I’ve always heard focus on the idea that that person earned the first somehow by being so great, but how many other greats just went unrecognized by the people holding the trophies?

    Like

Leave a Reply

